In Irma's Wake | WGCU

In Irma's Wake

Hurricane Irma’s violent path of destruction through Florida in September 2017 was historic in its magnitude. Nothing was spared its wrath including many of Southwest Florida’s treasured landmarks, attractions and nature preserves. This program chronicles the efforts of the Conservancy of Southwest Florida, Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary, Naples Botanical Garden, The Naples Zoo, Everglades Wonder Gardens, The Calusa Nature Center and Planetarium, Edison & Ford Winter Estates, and the Six Mile Cypress Slough to rebuild and recover post-Irma.

Contact Information

 Find more information about volunteering or contributing by contacting the organizations below.

 

SIX MILE CYPRESS SLOUGH

Kathy Cahill
Lee County Parks & Recreation
7751 Penzance Blvd
Fort Myers, FL 33966
(239) 533-7275
kcahill@leegov.com
www.sloughpreserve.org

 

NAPLES BOTANICAL GARDEN

Cindy Learned
Director of Development
Naples Botanical Garden
4820 Bayshore Drive
Naples FL 34112
(239) 325-1927
CLearned@naplesgarden.org
www.naplesgarden.org

 

EVERGLADES WONDER GARDENS

Thomas Hecker
Executive Director 
27180 Old 41 Road
Bonita Springs, FL 34135
(239) 992-2591
Thomas@evergladeswondergardens.com 
www.evergladeswondergardens.com

 

CALUSA NATURE CENTER AND PLANETARIUM

Larry Aguilar
Executive Director
3450 Ortiz Avenue
Fort Myers, FL  33905
(239) 275-9016
admin@calusanature.org
www.calusanature.org

 

AUDUBON CORKSCREW SWAMP SANCTUARY

Jason Lauritsen
Sanctuary Director
375 Sanctuary Road
Naples, FL 34120
(239) 348-9151
Jlauritsen@audubon.org
www.corkscrew.audubon.org

 

EDISON & FORD WINTER ESTATES

Lisa Sbuttoni
Vice President, Community & Visitor Relations
2350 McGregor Blvd.
Fort Myers, FL  33901
(239) 334-7419
Lsbuttoni@efwefla.org
www.edisonfordwinterestates.org

 

NAPLES ZOO

Marci Seamples
Director of Development
1590 Goodlette-Frank Rd.
Naples, FL  34102
(239) 262-5409 ext. 147
marci@napleszoo.org
www.napleszoo.org

 

CONSERVANCY OF SOUTHWEST FLORIDA

Catherine Bergerson
Director of Communications & Marketing
1495 Smith Preserve Way
Naples, FL  34102
(239) 403-4216
catherineb@conservancy.org
www.conservancy.org


Sign Up for our E-Newsletter!